Research by Imagine

Enterprise AI diffusion report

The Enterprise AI diffusion report is Imagine's research on how large companies deploy AI inside their organizations: who owns AI, whether the company built or bought its platform, which models run where, and how many employees use it.

Verified See methodology

How enterprises have deployed AI

Side by side

Every company in the report is measured on the same six dimensions, so profiles compare directly.

CompanyOwnershipPlatformModelsHostingReachStage
KlarnaCEO Sebastian Siemiatkowski; no chief AI officer disclosedHybrid: Assistant and Kiki built in-house on OpenAI; ChatGPT Enterprise boughtOpenAI, plus Google media models and ElevenLabs voiceAWS as primary cloud; Google Cloud trains fraud models; generative AI runs through OpenAI and ElevenLabs services96% used generative AI daily (Aug 2024)Embedded
SalesforcePresident Joe Inzerillo (Enterprise and AI Technology), on the executive team; Rohan Kumar runs engineeringHybrid: Own Agentforce, Slack and Data 360; coding agents and frontier models boughtAnthropic, OpenAI and Google models plus Salesforce's own, chosen by taskHyperforce on AWS and Google Cloud plus Salesforce-run infrastructure in third-party data centers; Claude via Amazon Bedrock in Salesforce's VPC; Koa on Salesforce's own infrastructure; coding agents vendor-hosted99% of employees use internal agents (Sep 2025)Embedded
Goldman SachsCIO Marco Argenti, on the Management Committee; OneGS 3.0 developed by President John WaldronHybrid: GS AI Platform built in-house; coding tools and agents boughtOpenAI, Google and Anthropic behind one gateway, plus open-weight modelsBehind the firm's firewall; GenAI Platform team works on AWS; the clouds and data centers serving the models are not disclosedAbout 40,000 weekly users of 46,200 staff (Sep 2026)Scaling
IBMSVP Transformation and Operations Joanne Wright, under the CFO; CEO chaired the steering committeeBuilt: Own watsonx stack: Ask agents, AskIBM and BobClaude, Mistral and Granite in Bob; others not disclosedIBM Cloud: Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud VPC, GPU-capable; where Bob's Claude models run is not disclosed80,000+ on Bob (Apr 2026); AskIT for about 270,000Scaling
JPMorgan ChaseCTO Scot Baldry, under Global CIO Lori Beer; becomes CDAO at the end of 2026Hybrid: LLM Suite built in-house; coding tools boughtOpenAI and Anthropic behind one portal, plus open-weight modelsOwn data centers and cloud providers, AWS and Microsoft Azure included; bank data barred from model trainingAbout 150,000 weekly users (Feb 2026)Scaling
ModernaChief People and Digital Technology Officer, on the Executive CommitteeHybrid: ChatGPT Enterprise bought; research AI built in-houseOpenAI for employees; in-house machine learning in researchOpenAI's hosted ChatGPT Enterprise for employees; AWS for research, data and machine-learning workloads; no company data centers disclosedAll knowledge workers use ChatGPT daily (Aug 2025)Scaling
WalmartEVP AI Acceleration Daniel Danker, on the Executive Council; Global CTO Suresh Kumar runs the platformHybrid: Element built in-house; ChatGPT Enterprise and Claude boughtOpenAI, Anthropic and Walmart's own Wallaby LLMs, chosen by task and costGoogle Cloud, Microsoft Azure and Walmart's own data centers, plus edge computing in stores; ChatGPT Enterprise and Claude are vendor-hosted900,000+ weekly assistant users (Jun 2025)Scaling
AppleSVP Software Engineering Craig Federighi, with VP of AI Amar SubramanyaHybrid: Enchanté and Enterprise Assistant built in-house; coding tools boughtApple Foundation Models with Anthropic Claude and Google Gemini, as reportedApple data centers and private servers; Google Cloud with Nvidia GPUs since Jun 2026; AWS for search inferenceNot disclosed; Enchanté reported across office staff (Jan 2026)Piloting
AutoZoneNo named AI chief; SVP and CIO Michelle Borninkhof speaks for AI plansHybrid: Google's Gemini Enterprise bought; ALLDATA built its own AI toolGoogle's Gemini Enterprise; ALLDATA's model not disclosedGoogle Cloud, after exiting legacy data centers (Apr 2026); some on-premises servers and a mostly vendor-run IBM mainframe remain; ALLDATA's AI hosting not disclosedNot disclosed; Gemini Enterprise in early stages (Apr 2026)Piloting
Berkshire HathawayNo group AI chief; subsidiary CEOs own AI, with brk tech (Hari Govind) as shared helpHybrid: No group platform; subsidiaries build in-house and buy point toolsNot disclosed group-wide; Claude reported in GEICO engineering, in-house models at BNSFGEICO: private cloud in two colocation data centers plus public cloud, reported as mostly Microsoft Azure; brk tech: Azure and Oracle Cloud; others undisclosedNot disclosed; no group-wide employee AI toolPiloting
Burlington StoresNo named AI chief; CIO Varadheesh Chennakrishnan runs IT, and the Audit Committee oversees AI governanceBought: Vendor AI: Microsoft Copilot, Paradox and HireVueNot disclosed; each vendor's own modelsNot disclosed; Copilot, Paradox and HireVue run as vendor services; data engineering on Snowflake and Microsoft Azure (job posting); Oracle Retail on premises, moving to Oracle's cloudNot disclosed; Copilot licensed by approvalPiloting
CostcoNo named AI chief; CIDO Javier Polit runs technology and reports to the CEOHybrid: AI built into its own systems; partner AI for membersNot disclosed; Google Cloud Vertex AI reported by ConstellationNot disclosed; Microsoft Azure hybrid cloud and Costco data centers, with Google Cloud Vertex AI reported; partner AI runs on vendor systemsNot disclosed; no employee AI assistant announcedPiloting
Delta Air LinesAmala Duggirala, Chief Digital & Technology Officer, reporting to the CEOHybrid: In-house tools on AWS; Fetcherr pricing and Airbus Skywise boughtNot disclosed; Amazon Bedrock used to test models (2023)AWS as preferred cloud plus Delta's own data centers; vendor platforms for pricing (Fetcherr) and maintenance (Airbus Skywise)All SkyMiles members for Delta Concierge (Aug 2026); staff use not disclosedPiloting
Ross StoresNo named AI owner; AI work sits in IT, with no separate AI unit plannedHybrid: No named platform; Microsoft Azure AI and GitHub Copilot in job postingsNot disclosed; Azure OpenAI named in job postingsNot disclosed; job postings point to Microsoft Azure, including Azure OpenAI and Azure AI Search, alongside on-premises applicationsNot disclosed; software developers use AI daily (Aug 2026)Piloting
Texas RoadhouseNo named AI owner; CTO Hernan Mujica runs technology and reports to the CEOBought: None named; 10-K cites third-party AI models and vendorsNot disclosed; 10-K cites dependence on third-party AI modelsNot disclosed for AI; IT on Microsoft Azure (job postings), third-party cloud and hosting providers and a redundant data center (10-K)Not disclosed; no employee AI tool announcedExperimenting

Method

What the report measures

Ownership
Who owns AI on the org chart, and how close that person sits to the chief executive.
Platform
Whether the company built its own AI platform, bought one, or runs a mix of both.
Models
Which model providers the company uses, and whether it can switch between them.
Hosting
Where inference runs, and whether company data leaves the company's own environment.
Reach
How many employees can use AI tools, and how many use them routinely.
Stage
How far AI has spread through the company, from experimenting to embedded.

Stages of diffusion

From experimenting to embedded

  1. 1Experimenting

    Experimenting means AI work lives in proofs of concept run by a central team or a few enthusiasts. Employees have no sanctioned general tool, and nothing runs in production at scale.

    Texas Roadhouse

  2. 2Piloting

    Piloting means a sanctioned assistant or platform is live for selected groups, a handful of use cases are in production, and the governance rules are still being written.

    Apple, AutoZone, Berkshire, Burlington, Costco, Delta, Ross

  3. 3Scaling

    Scaling means a company-wide AI platform is open to most employees, dozens to hundreds of use cases run in production, and a named executive owns AI and reports its results.

    Goldman, IBM, JPMorgan, Moderna, Walmart

  4. 4Embedded

    Embedded means AI is part of how core work gets done: most employees use it every week, workflows and roles have been redesigned around it, and the company reports its financial effect.

    Klarna, Salesforce

Methodology

How a profile is built

  1. Primary sources first. Annual reports, shareholder letters, investor days, earnings calls and the company's own announcements set the facts.
  2. Reporting corroborates. News coverage and executive interviews fill in what filings leave out, and a claim with one secondary source is marked unconfirmed.
  3. Every number is graded. Each figure is marked confirmed, estimated or unconfirmed, and estimates say what they are derived from.
  4. Returns are business results. A use case shows a return only when the company reported one and credited it to AI, in revenue, cost, headcount or output, with its date. Usage figures and task speedups do not count.
  5. Every profile is dated. The verification date is the day each fact was last checked against its source.

Data confidence

Confirmed
Stated in a primary or reputable public source.
Estimated
Derived or approximated from public reporting.
Unconfirmed
Reported, but not yet corroborated.

Questions

About the report

What is the Enterprise AI diffusion report?
The Enterprise AI diffusion report is Imagine's research on how large companies deploy AI inside their organizations: who owns AI, whether the company built or bought its platform, which models run where, and how many employees use it.
How does the Enterprise AI diffusion report decide a company's stage?
Imagine places each company on one of four stages: Experimenting, Piloting, Scaling, Embedded. The stage follows from evidence in the profile: whether a sanctioned AI platform exists, how many employees can use it, how many use cases run in production, and whether the company reports the financial effect.
Where does the data in the Enterprise AI diffusion report come from?
Every profile in the Enterprise AI diffusion report is built from public sources: annual reports and shareholder letters, investor day presentations, earnings calls, company announcements, executive interviews and news reporting. Each figure is marked confirmed, estimated or unconfirmed, and each profile shows the date its facts were last checked.
Which companies are in the Enterprise AI diffusion report?
The Enterprise AI diffusion report currently profiles Klarna, Salesforce, Goldman Sachs, IBM, JPMorgan Chase, Moderna, Walmart, Apple, AutoZone, Berkshire Hathaway, Burlington Stores, Costco, Delta Air Lines, Ross Stores, and Texas Roadhouse. Imagine keeps adding companies, each measured on the same six dimensions: ownership, platform, models, hosting, reach and stage.
How can I suggest a company or report a correction?
Email data@imagine.ai with the company name or the correction and a source. Imagine checks every correction against its source before changing a profile, and the profile's verification date moves when it does.

Suggest a company